Book Review: Rough Ride, Kristen Ashley

Rosalie Holloway put it all on the line for the Chaos Motorcycle Club.

Informing to Chaos on their rival club—her man’s club, Bounty—Rosalie knows the stakes. And she pays them when her man, who she was hoping to scare straight, finds out she’s betrayed him and he delivers her to his brothers to mete out their form of justice.

But really, Rosie has long been denying that, as she drifted away from her Bounty, she’s been falling in love with Everett “Snapper” Kavanagh, a Chaos brother. Snap is the biker-boy-next door with the snowy blue eyes, quiet confidence and sweet disposition who was supposed to keep her safe…and fell down on that job.

For Snapper, it’s always been Rosalie, from the first time he saw her at the Chaos Compound. He’s just been waiting for a clear shot. But he didn’t want to get it after his Rosie was left bleeding, beat down and broken by Bounty on a cement warehouse floor.

With Rosalie a casualty of an ongoing war, Snapper has to guide her to trust him, take a shot with him, build a them…

And fold his woman firmly in the family that is Chaos.

**Every 1001 Dark Nights novella is a standalone story. For new readers, it’s an introduction to an author’s world. And for fans, it’s a bonus book in the author’s series. We hope you’ll enjoy each one as much as we do.**


adobe-spark

“He’s yours to break or he’s yours to hold safe.” “Chaos men are unbreakable,” I informed her. “If your father lived to see his daughter in that hospital bed like I saw her, he’d have shattered,” she retorted. And that’s when the tears started to sting my eyes. “Men are breakable, Rosalie,” she said in her calm, serene voice. “They just hide the cracks better than we women do.”

I have felt for Rosalie since she was tossed aside in Own the Wind. She has always felt like such a genuine, caring woman that I was absolutely certain she needed a good man. Knowing she had gone to another, not so reputable, club to find that man worried me. As I began her story, my suspicions were absolutely confirmed and Rosalie had found herself some trouble. But luckily she had some amazing people at her back, even though she didn’t exactly want them at first.

First off, I LOVE Rosalie’s mom. She is everything, everything a mom should be. She supports Rosalie, gives some absolutely amazing advice, but also allows Rosalie to live and make her own choices. She is probably one of my favorites. I also got to see Zip again! I love how KA’s stories interweave their characters into one another, especially with characters like Zip enter back in and work their sarcastic magic!

I love that even within her weakness, Rosalie finds her strength. She isn’t one of the normal Chaos ladies – pushing her way through, being loud and forward – but rather seems to draw her strength from deeper within herself. I really enjoyed being able to see a woman who was Chaos, but exhibited a different side.

Oh Snapper ❤ He is just … a good man. He loved Rosalie from afar, but gave her what she needed while still maintaining a relationship and allowing them to become close. When he finally gets a chance to make his move, he does not let her go without a fight. “But we’re doin’ this right, Rosie. We’re talkin’ and we’re gettin’ shit straight because we’re not just doin’ this right, I’m doin’ you right. For years, you’ve had a rough ride, what’s happened recently just the most recent…So as much as I want more of what you’re offering, I’ll take it tonight when we both know where we’re at and I can be assured you’re right there with me.” All of this. Snapper takes the time to really, truly make sure that he and Rosalie are on the same page before he moves forward with her.

I can honestly say this relationship was beautiful. Although I always end up loving whoever I’m most currently reading about, especially with KA men, but there was something about Snapper that deeply tugged my heart. He was such a good man.

You can definitely read this even if you haven’t read the Chaos series, but once you’ve read it, you’ll have to read the whole series!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.